Law Society

Council Election 2021


The Law Society Council consists of 21 Councillors (two City Councillors, two Suburban Councillors, two Country Councillors, two Corporate Councillors, two Government Councillors, two Large Firm Councillors, one Young Lawyer Councillor and eight Councillors not elected to specific Reserved Positions) and any Senior Office Bearer whose elected term of office has expired (for more information about the Council, click here).

The work required of Law Society Councillors is demanding and involves a substantial commitment of time and effort. Members of the Council, other than Office Bearers, might expect to commit, on average, the equivalent of at least one half-day a week to Law Society business, excluding reading and preparation times.

The Council currently meets monthly and more frequently when required. The usual commencement time for monthly meetings is 4.00pm, and Council may sit for three hours or longer. In addition, Councillors are required to serve on committees involving Law Society representational and regulatory activities and attend a considerable number of functions arranged by the Law Society from time to time.


The Notice of Forthcoming Election has been sent to Members (see Notice).

Eight Councillors are due to retire as Councillors at the Annual General Meeting of the Law Society, which will be held at 4.30pm on Thursday 28 October 2021.

There are seven vacancies to be filled by process of election:


  • City Councillor
  • Country Councillor
  • Corporate Councillor
  • Government Councillor


  • Councillor
  • Councillor
  • Councillor

Each of these positions is for a three-year term. The eighth vacancy is to be filled by the appointment of the Young Lawyer Councillor for a one-year term in accordance with clause 8.1.8 of the Law Society’s Articles of Association.


All Solicitor Members are eligible to stand for election. Please consider nominating for Council.

In nominating for the 2021 Council election, you can play a critical role in ensuring the profession benefits from leadership that understands and adapts to the changing demands of practice. This is your opportunity to make a difference in your profession and your community. 

Law Society Councillors gain a unique insight into the workings of the legal profession. Councillors lead the profession and are ideally placed to consider the issues, pressures and opportunities that members face in daily practice. Electing trusted leaders strengthens the future of the profession.


To request a Nomination Kit, contact or phone Cheryle O’Loan on 02 9926 0213.

Nomination Requirements

  1. Ensure you are a Solicitor Member of the Law Society.
  2. Note the list of vacancies to be filled at the 2021 Law Society Council election.
  3. Complete and sign the 2021 Council election nomination form, ensuring that signatures of at least seven Solicitor Members have been obtained in support of your nomination. In the current COVID-19 environment, if you are unable to arrange for seven Solicitor Members to sign the original nomination form, the form that you have signed can be copied and separately forwarded to individual nominating Members for signature. These signed forms can be returned to the Law Society as separate documents via email, post or DX. Your nomination will be declared valid provided at least seven Solicitor Members have signed and forwarded nomination forms supporting your nomination, and your signature, as candidate, also appears on these forms. If there are issues in providing Member signatures due to working from home arrangements, please contact us by email at or by telephone at 02 9926 0213 to discuss possible alternate arrangements.  
  4. Send your completed nomination form to the Company Secretary at the Law Society, by email to, by mail, document exchange or hand delivery to 170 Phillip Street (DX362), Sydney 2000. Your completed nomination must be received at the Law Society prior to 4.00pm on Monday, 20 September 2021.

Prior to 4.00pm on Monday 20 September 2021, please also provide to the Law Society a 100-word biographical note and a recent portrait photograph for inclusion in the official election documents. The information and photo will be published on the Law Society website in relation to the Council election and in the Voting Instructions and Candidate Information election materials. 


The 2021 Law Society election will again be hosted by BigPulse, a web-based online service provider. BigPulse has conducted online elections for the Law Society for the past eight years.

An email with an “Invitation to Vote” will be forwarded to Solicitor Members with an email address during the last week in September. Solicitor Members can also choose to vote by completing the printed ballot paper which will be sent to Members by document exchange (DX) or by post.

The challenges presented by COVID-19 have impacted Australia Post’s services and performance standards and may result in delays in the delivery and return of printed ballot papers.  We encourage Members to consider voting online to ensure your vote is received before the ballot closes at 2.00pm on Monday 25 October 2021.

Please remember - you can only vote once.


Monday 23 August 2021 – Notification of Election
Notice of Forthcoming Election is sent to Solicitor Members with email addresses by email and via the Law Society’s Monday Briefs. A printed copy of the Notice will be sent to Solicitor Members who have not provided an email address.

Monday 23 August 2021 to 4.00pm Monday 20 September 2021 - Nominations 

  1. Nominees must submit a Nomination Form, signed by not less than seven other Solicitor Members of the Law Society and by the Nominee.
  2. Nominations are to be received by the Company Secretary prior to 4.00pm Monday 20 September 2021 by email or by post, document exchange or hand delivery to 170 Phillip Street (DX362), Sydney 2000.
  3. The following additional materials must be received by the Company Secretary at the Law Society by 4.00pm Monday 20 September 2021 in order to be included in the voting/online materials:
    1. A brief biographical note (limit 100 words).
    2. A recent high-resolution portrait photograph (not more than 12 months old).

Tuesday 28 September 2021 - Monday 25 October 2021 - Voting
For the 2021 election, Members with email addresses will again have the opportunity to vote electronically. 

Members are encouraged to consider casting their vote online, given the potential impact of COVID-19 on the delivery and return of printed ballot papers during the election period. 
Online: The 2021 Council election is again hosted by BigPulse, the Law Society’s nominated external service provider. If you are a Solicitor Member and have an email address, you will receive an email, “Invitation to Vote” for the 2021 Council election, with instructions on how to link to the electronic voting paper. If you have not received an email inviting you to vote, please first check your “Junk Email” folder and then contact your IT department to confirm that the email has not been blocked by your organisation’s firewall or spam filter.

Printed Ballot: All Solicitor Members will also receive voting instructions, a printed ballot paper and two return envelopes (inner and outer envelopes). You can vote for up to, but not more than, the number of candidates (7) required to be elected to fill available vacancies. If you are voting using a printed ballot paper, please complete and return the ballot paper as soon as possible to ensure receipt by the Law Society prior to close of ballot at 2.00pm on Monday 25 October 2021.

Monday 25 October 2021 – Ballot closes at 2.00pm
Ballots cannot be accepted after this time.

Thursday 28 October 2021 – Annual General Meeting
At the Annual General Meeting, successful candidates are announced and will hold office effective from 28 October 2021.