Law Society Council

The Law Society of NSW is governed by the Law Society Council in accordance with the Constitution of the Law Society of New South Wales, the Legal Profession Uniform Law (NSW) and the Corporations Act 2001.

Consisting of Councillors from a cross-section of both the profession and the community, the Council guides the objectives and policies of the Law Society, monitors its performance and delegates its authority over various matters to a network of Committees.

To ensure the composition of the Council is representative of the main segments of solicitors within the profession, the Council comprises 21 Councillors (and any Senior Office Bearer whose elected term of office has expired):

  • 2 Country Councillors 
  • 2 Suburban Councillors
  • 2 City Councillors
  • 2 Corporate Councillors
  • 2 Government Councillors
  • 2 Large Firm Councillors
  • 1 Young Lawyer Councillor
  • 8 Councillors not elected to a specific position
  • any Senior Office Bearer whose elected term of office has expired

As a result of changes to the Law Society Constitution in 2022 regarding the size and composition of the Law Society Council, the Council will, from the Annual General Meeting in October 2024, be comprised as follows:

  • 1 City Councillor
  • 1 Suburban Councillor
  • 1 Country Councillor
  • 1 Corporate Councillor
  • 1 Government Councillor
  • 1 Large Firm Councillor
  • 1 Young Lawyer councillor
  • 8 other Councillors who will hold unreserved positions.
  • any Senior Office Bearer whose elected term of office has expired

View a list of current Councillors and their practice contact details.

Office Bearers

Office Bearers take active leadership roles in implementing the Law Council’s policies and significant programs. They also represent the Law Society to the profession, the community and in negotiations with other parties. The Office Bearers are the: President, Senior Vice-President, Junior Vice President, Treasurer, Immediate Past President.

Elections of Office Bearers

At a Council meeting in November the Council members elect Office Bearers for the positions of Senior and Junior Vice-President and Treasurer, each of whom hold office for a term of one year. The Senior Vice-President becomes the President at the end of the calendar year following their election.

Becoming a Councillor

Elections for Council are held in October each year. Councillors are generally elected for three years, with at least seven positions on the Council becoming vacant each year.

Skills Framework

As part of the Review of the Composition and Governance of the Law Society Council in 2022, the Law Society undertook a survey of members to seek input on a range of matters including possible areas for improvements to the effectiveness of the Law Society Council. Responses from members confirmed that there is strong support for strengthening the skills mix on the Council. In response to this feedback, the Council in 2023 developed a Councillor Skills Framework, which includes suggested skills and experience for the Council, with a focus on both existing skills and skills development while sitting on the Council. During elections, candidates are asked to consider this framework and, if they wish, comment on their own skills and experience in their campaign information.

Register of Delegations

The power of the Council of The Law Society of New South Wales (Law Society Council) to delegate any of its functions under the Legal Profession Uniform Law Application Act 2014 (Application Act) or the Legal Profession Uniform Law (NSW) (Uniform Law) is found in the Application Act. The Constitution of the Law Society also provide for the Law Society Council to delegate to committees. Details of those delegations are set out in the Register of Delegations.

Council has recently reviewed the Register of Delegations and has issued new delegations that supersede previous delegations.

The Register of Delegations, effective 3 October 2023, can be viewed here.

For historic versions of delegations, please view the archive here