Taxation Law


What we do

The Taxation Law Committee facilitates discussion on varied topics including State and Federal taxes, tax litigation and superannuation as well as discussion around recent updates to taxation for practitioners working in various fields.

The committee has a diverse range of members including barristers, tax lawyers, non-tax lawyers, professionals from accounting firms, the ATO and other government agencies and law students. The Taxation Law Committee explores all areas of taxation law, issues in tax practice and allows committee members to share their own tax-related experiences.

Our initiatives

  • In addition to meeting once a month to discuss developments in tax law and issues in tax practice, the committee also invites guest speakers from a variety of backgrounds to discuss topical tax issues.
  • The committee is involved in writing submissions to Treasury and other law reform bodies, providing members with the opportunity to help shape tax law and tax policy in Australia.
  • As tax intersects with many other areas of the law, lawyers practicing in other areas often attend the Taxation Law Committee meetings as well as a number of social events the committee facilitates throughout the year.

Who we are

Chair: Heydon Wardell-Burrus
Vice Chair: Jessica Rogers 
Secretary: Vacant

What’s happening

Please visit our Facebook page to view our upcoming events

Visit our committee newsletter for submissions, articles and more

When do we meet?

21 February 2019 6:00pm

21 March 2019 6:00pm

18 April 2019 6:00pm

16 May 2019 6:00pm

20 June 2019 6:00pm

18 July 2019 6:00pm

15 August 2019 6:00pm

19 September 2019 6:00pm

17 October 2019 6:00pm

21 November 2019 6:00pm