Personal Injury


The Injury Compensation Committee focuses on all aspects of personal injuries law, its development and amendment, plus the impact of change on the profession and the public.

Compulsory third party reforms commencing 1 December 2017

The Motor Accident Injuries Act 2017, the Motor Accident Injuries Amendment Regulation 2017 and the Motor Accident Guidelines come into force on 1 December and introduce a new compulsory third party scheme in NSW. The scheme replaces the one currently in existence under the Motor Accidents Compensation Act 1999 for accidents that occur after commencement.

The ActRegulation and Guidelines are available online on the NSW Legislation website.

Workers Compensation

In June 2012 the NSW government introduced sweeping changes to the workers compensation scheme with the Workers Compensation Legislation Amendment Act 2012. The 2012 Act amended the Workers Compensation Act 1987 and the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998.

There have been substantial changes to entitlements, the claims process and claims dispute process which in turn impact on the matters that are now dealt with by the Workers Compensation Commission. The 2012 Act established an independent external complaints resolution mechanism through the appointment of an independent statutory office, the WorkCover Independent Review Office (WIRO) one of whose responsibilities is the administration of the new Independent Legal Assistance and Review Service.

The Committee provides the following resources for practitioners:

Workers Compensation Fact Sheet

Questions and Answers from meeting on 4 September 2013 attended by Mr Kim Garling of WIRO

2020 Committee list

T. Stern (Chair), T. Concannon (Dep Chair), A. Abboud, S. Butcher, B. Casado, B. Cassidy, G. Daley, L. Davidson, G. Guest, S. Harris, I. Jones, C. Ktenas, A. Lopes De Lima, H. Macken, P. Macken, R. May, K. McCusker, A. Mulcahy, D. Potts, C. Slan (YL Rep), J. Thurgood, K. Toshack, M. Warton, D. Weng.

How to join a committee
Law Society Committees have powers, authorities and tasks delegated by the Council. Consisting of dedicated volunteers, each committee focuses on a particular area of law, pooling together specialist skills and experience in order to scrutinise legislation, court decisions and other government policies.
There are three broad categories of committees:

  • Regulatory committees – perform statutory duties under the Legal Profession Uniform Law (NSW)
  • Liaison committees – linked to other professions or organisations
  • Policy committees

By drawing on the insights of committees, the Law Society can meet its statutory duties and act as a major player in law reform and policy debates.