deposit-taking institutions

Under the Legal Profession Uniform Law (NSW), a general trust bank account can only be established at an authorised deposit-taking institution (ADI).

General trust accounts

The following institutions are authorised to hold general trust accounts in NSW.


  • Australia & New Zealand Bank Ltd 
  • Bank of Cyprus Australia Ltd 
  • Bank of Queensland Ltd 
  • Bank of Sydney Ltd 
  • Bank of Western Australia Ltd 
  • Bendigo and Adelaide Bank 
  • Commonwealth Bank of Australia 
  • Greater Bank Ltd
  • Macquarie Bank Ltd 
  • National Australia Bank Ltd 
  • St George Bank Ltd 
  • Westpac Banking Corporation

Building Societies

  • Maitland Mutual Building Society Ltd 
  • Newcastle Permanent Building Society Ltd

Credit Unions

  • Community Mutual Ltd 
  • Southern Cross Credit Union Ltd 
  • Summerland Credit Union Ltd

Controlled money accounts

A controlled money account may be opened with any of the above ADIs or any other ADI. See the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority’s approved list of ADIs.