Public law

The Public Law Committee monitors all matters related to this area and represents the Law Society and its members on policy and practice issues arising from it.

Our priorities include:

  • Identifying opportunities to improve review frameworks in relation to administrative decisions (eg, greater provision of internal review, external merits review etc);
  • Matters that affect the powers and independence of investigative and oversight bodies (e.g. ICAC, LECC);
  • Counter-terrorism and national security legislation;
  • The resilience of public institutions and the role of the rule of law;
  • Monitoring the changing relationship between areas of public law and private law.

Learn more about committees
Current committee members
How to join a committee

2024 Committee list

Mr Graeme Johnson (Chair), Ms Debra Smith (Deputy Chair), A. Chalk, E. Hammond, R. Heinrich,  M. Keenan, V. La, C. Lithgow, A. Mojtahedi, M. O'Brien, K. Renehan, G. Rohan, B. Sellers, K. Smith,  M. Smyth, V. Tiano, A. Tsacalos, A. Walsh, A. Zekanovic.

How to join a committee
Law Society Committees have powers, authorities and tasks delegated by the Council. Consisting of dedicated volunteers, each committee focuses on a particular area of law, pooling together specialist skills and experience in order to scrutinise legislation, court decisions and other government policies.
There are three broad categories of committees:

  • Regulatory committees – perform statutory duties under the Legal Profession Uniform Law (NSW)
  • Liaison committees – linked to other professions or organisations
  • Policy committees

By drawing on the insights of committees, the Law Society can meet its statutory duties and act as a major player in law reform and policy debates.

See the Law Society Committee webpage