Family Law

The Family Law Committee monitors all matters related to family law and represents the Law Society and its members on policy and practice issues arising from it. Our priorities include:

  • Developing and commenting on law reform and legal policy proposals (including preparing submissions, and liaising with government and other stakeholders in this process)
  • Educating the legal profession about changes to the law and the application of ADR, and providing guidance on practice and other issues
  • Exchanging information about issues arising in legal practice (such as recent case law) that may indicate a legal policy issue or concern

Learn more about committees
Current committee members
How to join a committee

Family and federal circuit court publications

Family Court and Federal Circuit Court email addresses for New South Wales practitioners

The Family Court of Australia and Federal Circuit Court of Australia encourage court users in New South Wales to use these specific court email addresses in family law matters.

Using the correct email address helps the courts to process requests efficiently and reduces overall delays.

Note that email addresses that include “familycourt” can be used for both courts.

Federal circuit court - indigenous family law list days

Family court - protocol for communicating with chambers

Federal circuit court - protocol for communicating with Judges' chambers

Family and federal circuit courts - filing of a notice of ceasing to act or notice of withdrawal as a lawyer

Family and federal circuit courts - national enquiry centre practitioner telephone line


2021 Committee list

C. Banks (Co-Chair), Z. Kekeff (Co-Chair), B. Bryant, C. Bryett, A. Colquhoun, P. Davis, J. Dawson, P. Doolan, B. Hayward, M. Hayward, F. Hoad, M. Livermore, L. Longbottom, L. Maitland, M. Mastronardi, B. McGrath, M. Meares, C. Ooosterhoff, D. Palethorpe (YL Rep), G. Thompson, M. Whitehead, M. Worner.

How to join a committee
Law Society Committees have powers, authorities and tasks delegated by the Council. Consisting of dedicated volunteers, each committee focuses on a particular area of law, pooling together specialist skills and experience in order to scrutinise legislation, court decisions and other government policies.
There are three broad categories of committees:

  • Regulatory committees – perform statutory duties under the Legal Profession Uniform Law (NSW)
  • Liaison committees – linked to other professions or organisations
  • Policy committees

By drawing on the insights of committees, the Law Society can meet its statutory duties and act as a major player in law reform and policy debates.

See the Law Society Committee webpage