• Increase Font
  • Decrease Font
  • Print


Law Society Committees have powers, authorities and tasks delegated by the Council. Consisting of dedicated volunteers, each committee focuses on a particular area of law, pooling together specialist skills and experience in order to scrutinise legislation, Court decisions and other government policies.

Committees are involved in different areas and there are three broad categories:

  • Regulatory committees – perform statutory duties under the Legal Profession Uniform Law (NSW)
  • Liaison committees – linked to other professions or organisations
  • Policy committees

By drawing on the insights of committees, the Law Society can in turn meet its statutory duties and act as a major player in law reform and policy debates.

Current committees

There are currently 27 standing committees and one board (the Specialist Accreditation Board). For the roles and priorities of the committees, see the 2018 Committees List. Any amendments to this list will be advised via Monday Briefs.

For further information see the Committee Handbook and the submission papers.

Joining a standing committee

Applications for 2018 Law Society standing committees have now closed. Applications for 2019 standing committees will open in September and October 2018.