

NOTICE OF FORTHCOMING ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS – 2021

19 August 2021

Retirement of Councillors

The following eight Councillors are due to retire as Councillors at the Annual General Meeting of the Law Society of New South Wales which will be held at **4.30pm on Thursday, 28 October 2021**:

City Councillor MARK STEPHEN WARTON

Country Councillor CASSANDRA DENISE BANKS

Corporate Councillor CATHERINE JOY JAMES

Government Councillor RONAN MACSWEENEY

Councillors (3)
JULIANA ROSE WARNER
ZORA KEKEFF
BRETT MCGRATH

Young Lawyer Councillor SIMON JEREMY ASHLEY BRUCK

All of the retiring Councillors are eligible to stand for re-election. Ms Juliana Warner, as President, is not required to stand for re-election as she remains a member of Council ex-officio and will become Immediate Past President on 1 January 2022.

The Law Society's Articles of Association require that Council includes 2 City Councillors, 2 Suburban Councillors, 2 Country Councillors, 2 Corporate Councillors, 2 Government Councillors, 2 Large Firm Councillors, 1 Young Lawyer Councillor and 8 Councillors and, in accordance with clause 8.4.2, any Senior Office Bearer whose elected term of office has expired.

In order to maintain this composition, **SEVEN** of the vacancies created by the above retirees are to be filled by a process of election as follows: *1 x City Councillor*, *1 x Country Councillor*, *1 x Corporate Councillor*, *1 x Government Councillor*, and *3 x Councillors*. Each of these positions is for a 3-year term. The eighth vacancy is to be filled by the appointment of the Young Lawyer

Councillor for a 1-year term in accordance with clause 8.1.8 of the Articles.

Nomination of Solicitor Members for election to Council

A completed Nomination Form for election to positions on Council, in the required form, must be received by the Company Secretary of the Law Society **not later than 4.00pm** on **Monday, 20 September 2021.**

Nominees are invited to submit, at their earliest opportunity and not later than 4.00pm on Monday, 20 September 2021, biographical detail (limit 100 words) and a recent portrait photograph. The biographical detail and photograph are intended to be included in the Candidate Information which accompanies the Voting Paper forwarded to all Solicitor Members.

For the 2021 election, Members with unique email addresses will again have the opportunity to vote electronically. Members are encouraged to consider casting their vote online, given the potential impact of COVID-19 on the delivery and return of printed ballot papers during the election period. Further information regarding electronic voting will be provided to Members in the near future.

The ballot will close at 2.00pm on Monday, 25 October 2021. The Company Secretary shall declare the candidates elected to fill vacancies and the votes received by each candidate at the Annual General Meeting to be held at 4.30pm on Thursday 28 October 2021. Details will also be published following the Annual General Meeting.

A Nomination Form, an outline of the requirements relating to biographical material and information about the responsibilities of Council membership may be obtained from:

Company Secretary

The Law Society of New South Wales 170 Phillip Street, Sydney 2000 DX 362 Sydney

Phone: (02) 9926 0213

Email: secretary@lawsociety.com.au

