

President: The Hon Kevin Lindgren AM, QC, FAAL Deputy President: The Hon Justice Alan Robertson, FAAL Treasurer: The Hon Justice G. John Digby, FAAL Secretary & Public Officer: Emeritus Professor David Barker AM, FAAL

> Secretariat & Registered Office Federal Court of Australia Locked Bag A6000 Sydney South NSW 1235 E: <u>admin@academyoflaw.org.au</u> T: +61 (0)2 9230 8953

ABN: 19127640466

## AUSTRALIAN ACADEMY OF LAW

## NOTICE OF

## **ANNUAL ESSAY PRIZE 2020**

The Australian Academy of Law is pleased to announce the offering of its Annual Essay Prize for 2020.

This year, eligibility to submit an essay is more limited than in previous years. In previous years, there was no limit (e.g. in terms of seniority or age). This year, generally speaking, eligibility is limited to those who have recently obtained their legal qualifications. Please read the Rules, to be found <u>here</u>.

The Prize is open to anyone, wherever resident, who possesses a recognised legal qualification suitable for legal admission purposes in any jurisdiction obtained not more than eight years prior to the closing date for the submission of essays. A copy of the relevant testamur or equivalent documentary evidence must accompany the essay submission. Apart from the foregoing, there is no limit by reference to the age or seniority or experience of, or position held by, a person who may submit an essay.

The amount of the Prize is \$10,000.

The essay topic for the Prize in 2020 is as follows:

# "The impact of a new and widespread contagious disease on pre-existing contractual obligations.

## Note: Earlier 'new' outbreaks of infectious diseases may be taken into account."

The deadline for the submission of an essay is 31 August 2020. This time limit is strictly observed, as the Rules Governing the Annual Essay Prize make clear.

Those Rules can be accessed on the Academy's website: www.academyoflaw. org.au

Refer to the Academy's website also for further information about the actual submission of an entry as well as information on previous winners.