

Notice of forthcoming Election of Councillors – 2018

17 August 2018

Retirement of Councillors

The following eight Councillors are due to retire as Councillors at the Annual General Meeting of The Law Society of New South Wales which will be held at **4.30pm on Thursday, 25 October 2018**:

City Councillor: MARK WARTON
Country Councillor: JANE GLOWREY
Corporate Councillor: CORALIE KENNY

Government Councillor: DOUGLAS HUMPHREYS

Councillor: CASSANDRA BANKS

Councillor:ZORA KEKEFFCouncillor:JULIANA WARNER

Young Lawyer Councillor: EMILY RYAN

All of the retiring Councillors are eligible to stand for re-election. Mr Douglas Humphreys, as President, is not required to stand for re-election as he remains a member of Council ex-officio and will become Immediate Past President on 1 January 2019.

The Law Society's Articles of Association require that Council includes 2 City Councillors, 2 Suburban Councillors, 2 Country Councillors, 2 Corporate Councillors, 2 Government Councillors, 2 Large Firm Councillors, 1 Young Lawyer Councillor and 8 Councillors and, in accordance with clause 8.4.2, any Senior Office Bearer whose elected term of office has expired.

In order to maintain this composition, **SEVEN** of the vacancies created by the above retirees are to be filled by a process of election as follows: *1 x City Councillor* (3-year term), *1 x Country Councillor* (3-year term), *1x Corporate Councillor*, *1x Government Councillor* (3-year term) and 3 x Councillors (3 x 3-year terms). The eighth vacancy is to be filled by the appointment of the Young Lawyer Councillor for a 1-year term in accordance with clause 8.1.8 of the Articles.

Nomination of Solicitor Members for election to Council

A Nomination Form for election to positions on Council, signed by not less than seven other Solicitor Members of the Society and with the consent of the nominee endorsed thereon, must be received by the Secretary of the Law Society **not later than 4.00pm** on **Monday, 17 September 2018**.

Nominees are invited to submit, at their earliest opportunity and not later than 4.00pm on Monday, 17 September 2018, biographical detail (limit 100 words) and a recent portrait photograph. The biographical detail and photograph are sought for inclusion on the Voting Instructions document which accompanies the Voting Paper forwarded to all Solicitor Members.

For the 2018 election, Solicitor Members will again have the opportunity to vote electronically. Information in this regard will be provided in the near future.

The Secretary shall declare the candidates elected to fill vacancies and the votes received by each candidate at the Annual General Meeting. Details will also be published following the Annual General Meeting.

A Nomination Form, an outline of the requirements relating to biographical material and information about the responsibilities of Council membership may be obtained from:

The Secretary

The Law Society of New South Wales 170 Phillip Street, Sydney DX 362 Sydney

Phone: (02) 9926 0213 Fax: (02) 9926 0166

Email: secretary@lawsociety.com.au

