Current Office Bearers

President - Jennifer Windsor

Jennifer has been an active member of NSW Young Lawyers for many years. Prior to being elected as Vice President at the 2017 Annual Assembly she served in the positions of Treasurer, Secretary and Executive Councillor. Jennifer started her journey with NSW Young Lawyers as a member of the Public Law & Government Committee.

As President, Jennifer looks forward to supporting the initiatives of NSW Young Lawyers and each of its Committees, particularly in providing services and opportunities relevant to the diverse needs of the membership.

Jennifer is a Senior Lawyer at Clayton Utz in Sydney, having joined the firm after many years as an in-house lawyer in Government. Jennifer advises both public and private sector clients in relation to administrative law, including judicial review and merits review, litigation and dispute resolution, regulatory enforcement, and inquests and inquiries.

Jennifer believes in supporting the current and future leaders of the profession to make an impact, working towards positive change in the profession and serving the community.

Email Jennifer.

Vice President - David Edney

David is a junior barrister at 6 St James Hall Chambers, practicing principally in the areas of commercial litigation and insolvency law, having been called to the bar after 11 years of practice as a solicitor.

David has been an active member of NSW Young Lawyers since joining its Civil Litigation Committee in 2008 – he was a General Delegate from the committee in 2014, elected its Secretary in 2015, and then its Chair in 2017.  David was elected as an Executive Councillor of NSW Young Lawyers in 2017, and then Vice-President in 2018.  David has also been a mentor in the NSW Young Lawyers Mentoring Program.

Admitted to practice in 2007, David began his legal career in the commercial litigation and debt collection practice of a firm in Sydney's Sutherland Shire. While he had a supportive boss and loved his job, he sought out and joined the Civil Litigation Committee in 2008 as a way to be in contact with other young lawyers at a similar stage in their careers. After spending a number of years posting in just about every discussion that occurred on the committee's email list, he managed to convince his boss to let him take the two-hour round trip into the city to attend the committee's monthly meeting - he hasn't looked back since.

While David now works in CBD, he hasn't forgotten his smaller-firm suburban roots, and how his involvement with NSW Young Lawyers helped him build confidence and connections so that he could become the lawyer he is today. He especially supports NSW Young Lawyers' work in helping today's graduates and junior practitioners to become tomorrow's leaders of the profession - not only through direct support such as mentoring programs, but also indirectly through its committees that assist members to build networks, stay engaged, and have a voice within the profession.  David intends to use his time as an office bearer of NSW Young Lawyer to continue continue supporting NSW Young Lawyers' work in that respect, especially in suburban and regional areas, so that others can have the opportunities he had.

When David isn't in the office his passion is cooking, especially in the backyard. He is known for his smoked brisket and bacon-wrapped jalapeño poppers, and insists people ask him about his recipe for haggis-stuffed chicken.

Email David.

Treasurer - Richard Prangell

Richard Prangell is the Principal Solicitor at Viridian Lawyers, a boutique law firm that works with startups, technology companies and innovators. Richard also teaches Advanced Commercial Transactions at the University of Technology, Sydney.

Richard was formerly Chair of the NSW Young Lawyers Communications, Entertainment and Technology Law Committee, and has been a member of that committee since 2011.

Richard was originally elected to the Executive Council in 2016, and his focus on council is on improving engagement with NSW Young Lawyers through innovation, and by working to improve delivery of services to members.

Richard grew up in the inner-western suburbs of Sydney, and outside of work, reads too many comic books, plays too few video games and binges on podcasts whenever he finds a moment of silence.

Secretary - Jade Tyrell

Jade is an Associate in the commercial disputes team at Carroll & O’Dea Lawyers. Jade’s practice primarily involves commercial litigation, estate litigation, and a wide variety of general commercial disputes. She also has experience in defamation and employment matters. Jade was the 2017 Tipstaff to the Hon. Justice Slattery at the Supreme Court of New South Wales and has a particular interest in advocacy.

Jade was admitted as a solicitor in February 2015. Prior to her Tipstaff role, Jade worked as a solicitor in the Commercial and Project Litigation team at Slater + Gordon from 2015. In this role, she worked on a range of commercial matters in federal and state courts and has acted for a number of clients in compulsory acquisition cases.

Jade is currently the Young Lawyers representative on the Law Society’s Litigation Law & Practice Committee, and the Secretary of the Young Lawyers Civil Litigation Committee. She looks forward to expanding the work of the Civil Litigation Committee in the next few years, including overseeing the continuation of the successful “Day in the Life of a Civil Litigator Program” and the assisting with the introduction of new initiatives.

Jade holds a Bachelor of Laws/Bachelor of Arts in Communications (Journalism) from the University of Technology, Sydney. She is also currently completing a Master of Laws at the University of Sydney.

Jade is looking forward to working with the new Young Lawyers Executive team to support the excellent policies and projects of Young Lawyers in the years to come.

Outside of work and the law, Jade loves (in no particular order) a good political debate, catching up with friends, and regular weekend brunches. She is a member of too many book clubs (and doesn’t always manage to read the book).

Email Jade

Immediate Past President - David Turner

David is the Immediate Past President of NSW Young Lawyers for 2019, having been the President in 2018. Prior to his appointment as the former President of NSW Young Lawyers, David was Vice President in 2017, an Executive Councillor of NSW Young Lawyers in 2016, and Vice Chair of the Animal Law Committee in 2015. David began his legal career in the restructuring and insolvency team of a leading international law firm, advising insolvency practitioners and Australian financial institutions on complex insolvency appointments and security enforcement litigation.  David was then called to the NSW Bar, where he built a successful practice acting for clients in a diverse range of commercial disputes, including corporate, property and equity cases, before returning to private practice at Assured Legal.

During his presidency, David focused on preparing NSW Young Lawyers for the future of the legal profession and equipping its members to capitalise on the disruption and change that is sweeping the professional services industries.

David holds a Bachelor of Laws (with Honours) and a Bachelor of Arts from Macquarie University, and is currently undertaking a Master of Economics at Macquarie University.

Email David