Annual Assembly 2019

8 - 10 November 2019

The Annual Assembly is our annual Conference held in November each year, which is attended by members from all over NSW.

What you can expect?

The Annual Assembly is an occasion to celebrate the achievements of NSW Young Lawyers, hear from experts about various areas of law and life and to vote for next year's leaders.

One of the primary, and significant, functions of our organisation is to provide a support for law students and lawyers in their early years in the profession, something that is often not readily available in modern legal practice.

The Annual Assembly provides a rare opportunity for representatives across our membership to meet and discuss how our organisation is working, and what we can do in the future. With this in mind, the focus of this assembly will be on creating resilient individuals who in turn can influence and sustain the wider profession.

A complete pack that will provide you with information on the venue, travel arrangements and the agenda will be send out in October each year.

The pack will also have information regarding this year's election, on which all delegates are entitled to vote. The elections are a critical component of the Annual Assembly, where we choose those who are to lead our organisation in the future. We use this opportunity to urge all delegates to consider running for a position next year.

Who attends the Assembly?

The below delegates attend and are eligible to vote in the NSW Young Lawyers Elections:

  • Current Office Bearers
  • Current Executive Councillors
  • Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs of the 15 substantive committees
  • General Delegates - Selected by the Offices Bearers at the beginning of each calendar year, they attend the Mid Year and Annual Assemblies as delegates
  • Representatives from Student Law Societies
  • Young Lawyer Representatives of the Law Society of NSW Committees
  • Young Lawyer Delegates from the 29 Regional Law Societies
  • Nominated Young Lawyer Representatives of various Professional Associations including the ACLA, Legal Aid, NSW Bar Association and many others
  • Nominated Representatives from the Courts

Other members of the organisation may attend the Annual Assembly in the role of Observer but are unable to vote during the Elections.

2017 Annual Assembly

The 2017 Annual Assembly was held at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth on the weekend of 4-5 November 2017. Over 100 young lawyers from the Executive Council and Office Bearers of the organisation, the 16 different Committees, General Delegates, Law Student Societies, the Courts and professional associations joined together to discuss the theme, Your Future, Your Career, Young Lawyers.

During the weekend delegates heard from Doug Humphreys - The Law Society of New South Wales and Danny Gompes - Business Development Manager, Unisearch Expert Opinion Services and Platinum Sponsor of NSW Young Lawyers. Delegates also participated in a Design Thinking Session with Gauri Bhalla - Founder, The Curious Collective.

Elections are held annually at the Assembly for Office Bearer and Executive Council positions. We welcomed the following new Office Bearers and Councillors to the team:

  • Jennifer Windsor - Vice President
  • Jem Punthakey - Treasurer
  • Lotte Callanan - Secretary
  • Simon Bruck
  • Svetlana Collantes
  • David Edney
  • Melissa Mastronardi
  • Jade Tyrrell

David Turner also commenced his term as President, while Emily Ryan became the Immediate Past President.

The Annual Assembly also gave the Patron and NSW Young Lawyers the opportunity to acknowledge the work of its Members and Committees at the Gala Dinner, with the Patron Awards being awarded.

2017 Patron, The Honourable Justice Margaret Beazley AO, awarded the following:

Young Lawyer of the Year: Cassandra Banks
Highly Commended: Nicole D'Souza

Best Professional Project: The Practitioner's Guide to Briefing Experts, NSW Young Lawyers and Unisearch Expert Opinion Services
Highly Commended: Young lawyers on the Rule of Law Guide, International Law Committee and Rule of Law Institute of Australia

Best Community Project: Refugee Assistance Project, joint project between Human Rights Committee and the Refugee Advice and Casework Services
Highly Commended: Young Justice Program - Years 5 to 8, NSW Young Lawyers Young Justice Team

The Gala Dinner also included the presentation of a cheque to the 2017 Charity, the Refugee Advice & Casework Service. Tanya Jackson-Vaughan, Executive Director, was present to accept the donation. This donation reflects the passion of our Members in supporting the charity's extremely important work.