• Increase Font
  • Decrease Font
  • Print

National Mediator Accreditation

In January 2008, the National Mediator Accreditation Standards (NMAS) were introduced to apply to all types of mediation.  The Law Society is a Recognised Mediator Accreditation Body (RMAB) under the Mediation Standards Board (MSB).

The MSB has set two standards for nationally accredited mediators:

Approval Standards

Approval Standards apply to any mediator who seeks to be accredited under the National Mediator Accreditation system.  These standards define the minimum qualifications and training requirements for mediators and assist parties to understand what qualifications and competencies to expect of mediators.

Practice Standards

Practice Standards govern the relationship between the mediator and the parties to the mediation, specify practice and competency requirements for mediators, and inform parties of what they can expect from the mediation process.

Read the Standards here.

How to Apply

There is a fee of $100.00 for applications for Accreditation and Re-accreditation.

Please contact the Dispute Resolution Legal Officer on (02) 9926 0396 for application forms.


  • The Law Society of New South Wales
  • 170 Philip Street
  • Sydney NSW 2000
  • DX 362 Sydney
  • T: (02) 9926 0396
  • E: adr@lawsociety.com.au